ga('send', 'pageview');

What can I eat?

Sep 15, 2011 by

What Can I Eat?
Good Grains – Bad Grains

Safe non-gluten flours and starches include amaranth, arrowroot, bean flours (pinto, gar-fava, garbanzo), buckwheat, corn, millet, montina, nut flours, pea flour, potato flour and starch including sweet potato starch, quinoa, rice (white, brown, wild, black and sweet rice), sorghum, soy, tapioca and teff.

Safe, in this context, means that the above grains, flours and starches are allowed on a gluten-free diet, however each person may have additional unique allergies, intolerances or sensitivities to a particular grain.

Forbidden Grains: The common gluten grains are wheat (including bran, germ and starch), barley (barley malt, barley extract or barley flavorings), rye and oats. Although oats do not contain gluten, oats in the US are grown, processed and packaged in contaminated (by wheat) environments. Do not use oats without your doctor’s knowledge and permission. Additional grains to avoid include couscous, durum and semolina (types of wheat), graham, farro, matzoh meal, spelt and kamut (also versions of wheat and may be known as spelta, Polish wheat, einkorn and small spelt), bulgur is cracked wheat and triticale is a crossbred grain from wheat and rye.

The gluten-free flours, binders (xanthan gum and guar gum), specialty foods and prepared foods are typically more expensive. Good meal planning can avoid over spending and wasted purchases.

 

Print Friendly

Related Posts

Tags

Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *